Deferred Disposition / Probation
You are Eligible if you meet all the following requirements:
- You have not had a deferral in Johnson City in the past year;
- The request is made before the appearance date on the original citation or notice to appear or before any date to which that initial appearance date as been extended or reset;
- You must enter a plea of guilty and waiver of jury trial;
- You have to provide proof of minimum liability insurance required by Chapter 601, Texas Transportation Code;
- You are at least 25 years of age, or if less than 25 years of age agrees to complete a driving safety course approved under Chapter 1001, Texas Education Code;
- No more than 2 convictions of any traffic offense in the past 3 years;
- A special expense fee shall be an amount equal to the maximum fine for the offense alleged plus court costs will be required to be paid at the time of your request;
- An affidavit of eligibility must be signed
- You must provide a Driving Record (3A version) from DPS
And if you are not ineligible due to one of the following reasons below:
You are not eligible if:
- You are currently on a deferral for any court or if you had a prior deferral in Johnson City within the past year.
- You have been convicted of more than 2 convictions of any traffic offense in the past 3 years (from the date of offense).
- You have failed to appear on the offense or a warrant has been issued for your arrest.
- You hold a commercial drivers license.
The offense is a serious traffic violation and would not be eligible for a driving safety course as stated below:
- Speeding in a school zone
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Fail to stop and give information and render aid
- Fleeing from a police officer
- Reckless driving
- Overtaking or passing a school bus
- Excessive speeding 20 miles per hour and over
- Any offense in a construction zone when workers were present